2018 Graduate Fellowship Awards Competition

Chapters are invited to nominate one graduating senior or recent alumnus/a, who has been inducted into TAK, to compete for three cash prizes to be used for educational costs associated with matriculation in a graduate degree program in the study of religion or theology for Fall 2018. Cash prizes are as follows:

1st Prize - $3000

2nd Prize - $2000

3rd Prize - $1000

The application of the nominee should be sent as an attachment in one PDF file: to kelleyb@stedwards.edu. The application must include the following:

1. a formal letter of application from the nominee, detailing her/his long-term educational goals and intentions especially in light of the purpose of Theta Alpha Kappa: to encourage, recognize, and maintain excellence in academic studies in Religion and Theology;

2. a scan of an official undergraduate transcript with a visible imprint or watermark that identifies the scan as a copy of an official document;

3. proof of acceptance and intent to matriculate into a relevant graduate program.

4.  in addition to the above mentioned items, nominees need to include (on the same page):

·         a physical mailing address that will be valid in June and July 2018 (for example, the student's permanent address);

·         a statement from the student verifying that the transcript is an official transcript that accurately reflects the work of the student;

·         the names, email addresses, and phone numbers of the two faculty members who are submitting letters of recommendation on behalf of the nominee;

·         the name, email address, and phone number of the TAK faculty representative at the chapter of the nominee, confirming the student’s membership in TAK and that the individual is the chapter’s nominee for the award. (If the student will be inducted subsequent to the deadline, the faculty representative should indicate the planned date of induction.) 

The application also requires two letters of recommendation from faculty members and a separate letter from the TAK chapter representative (confirming the student’s membership in TAK and that the individual is the chapter’s nominee for the Award) which are to be submitted by the faculty members. Nominees: it is your responsibility to ask faculty for letters of recommendation for the Graduate Fellowship Award. If the TAK chapter representative is also the writer of one of the letters of recommendation, the letter confirming TAK membership and chapter nomination should be sent as a separate letter.  Ask your faculty to write their letters of support on their institution’s letterhead (if needed, to send a scanned copy), and email them as a PDF attachment to Dr. Kelley Coblentz Bautch, TAK President, at kelleyb@stedwards.edu by April 30.

All materials, from the nominee and those writing on behalf of the nominee, must be received by 11:00 pm CST, April 30, 2018.  

Winners will be announced in early June 2018, and award checks will be mailed directly to the winners. To avoid misdirection of funds, it is imperative that nominees include a physical mailing address that will be valid in June and July 2018.